On Kindness

23 Jan

Usually, an act of kindness can reduce me to tears easier than an act of unkindness. I think it’s because I expect people to be cruel, disrespectful, unkind, selfish, greedy and arrogant; unkindness is like a common cold, it spreads from person to person like it’s contagious, and everyone falls victim to it once in a while. Soon, one comes to expect indifference or unkindness to be everyone’s default state.

Sometimes I think my acts of kindness are somewhat selfish – it’s not that I do them expecting something in return – I do them just because I can, however, they make me feel good. Is that so bad to feel happy because you think that you might have made someone else happier? I don’t think so. It is so easy to be unkind, and it is also completely painless to be kind to someone.

Oh, apparently kindness is the direct opposite to envy. Mayhap, my random acts of kindness will help to balance things out! Also, in a study of 37 cultures around the world, sixteen thousand subjects were asked about their most desired traits in a mate. For both sexes, the first preference was kindness. I suppose that being kind can only help my chances of getting someone to fall in love with me =]

“Be kind for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle”. I believe in this.

So when was your most recent random act of kindness?

Goodnight, dear void.

Leave a Reply

